Cobalt Miles of Sky

True North’s first compact disc, “Cobalt Miles of Sky,” was released in January 2005, produced and mixed by Dan Wetzel and Dale Adkins of Adams Ridge Studios, engineered by Dale Adkins and mastered by Fred Forssell.

The six members of True North combine traditional bluegrass instrumentation and close two and three-part harmonies with original material and soulful vocals for a fresh, modern bluegrass sound.

“Cobalt Miles of Sky” features 14 songs, eight of them original to True North, written by Kristen Grainger, Dan Wetzel, Matt Gray and Jeff Shippy. Four of the cd’s original songs were used in the soundtrack of “Shotgun for Mary,” an independent film produced by Nelson Entertainment that premiered at the Hollywood Theater in Portland on December 30, 2004.

The cd’s six ‘cover’ songs offer a wide range of crossover styles, from an old Bob Dylan tune, to a swing version of Bobby Troup’s jazz standard “Baby, Baby All the Time,” to folk-pop artist Patti Griffin’s gritty “Long Ride Home.” The album finishes with Rodney Crowell’s “Shame on the Moon,” made famous by rocker Bob Seger.